Tender Greens

13 Sep

Ahhhhhh….Sigh…..I’m back!  I FINALLY got internet service back yesterday afternoon!  Woo Hoo! 

I’ve been feeling a little under the weather these past few days…had a slight cold starting last Thursday and was in full-fledged sniffing and coughing mode yesterday.  That’s nothing a little Advil cold and sinus won’t fix though! I swear that stuff is crack! Take two of ’em and I feel like I’m walking on sunshine, well okay not really, I just don’t feel like I want to die of fatigue and tear my congested nose off my face.

In light of my cold induced foul mood my sis took me out for dinner last night.  My meal was delicious and exactly what I needed.  You see, last weekend I was at my parents house and a couple of days before that our power was out so we had to toss A LOT of food.  When I got to my apartment from orange county on Sunday-there was NOTHING to eat.  For lunch and dinner on Sunday I had Wheat Thins dipped in reduced fat whipped cream cheese and Sriracha.  Not FIT bitch meals, to say the least.  Come Monday, my body was craving real food. 

 

If real food is what you want, Tender Greens in Point Loma is where you should go! This is place serves mostly salad, as the name indicates, but they also grill lots of meats & veggies.  In addition to the regular menu they also have seasonal daily specials like smoked pork with mac ‘n’ ‘cheese,  a roasted veggie tart or a glazed pear & goat cheese salad.  Nicole (my sis) & I usually order the spinach salad- it’s healthy & light while still managing to be incredibly delicious!  It’s listed under the ‘simple salads’ heading on the menu, which makes sense because this is SUCH a simple salad.  Spinach, goat cheese, hazelnuts & Cabernet vinaigrette it’s a big plate of un complicated, fresh greens!!!  All of the simple salads at Tender Greens come with slice of grilled baguette lightly drizzled with garlic olive oil. I’d go just for this bread- it tastes so amazing coming off the grill- it tastes like what I think steak smells like!    I was feeling a little hungrier than a plate of spinach could take care of last night so I ordered a small side of grilled veggies and threw them on top of the salad- it was glorious!  For $2.50 I got a saucer sized plate full of grilled mushrooms, squash, eggplant, corn & zucchini!   Below are the claories for the Spinach salad with Cabernet Vinaigrette.  I also ate the peice of grilled bread & saucer of grilled veggies so I guess that adds about 200 -250 calls, making my total dinner calories, about 600. 

I can’t wait to go here again and maybe switch up my order for once….

Totals

  • Calories: 360
  • Calories Fat: 180
  • Total Fat: 21g
  • Saturated Fat: 6g
  • Trans Fat: 0g
  • Cholesterol: 15g
  • Sodium: 880mg
  • Carbs: 31g
  • Fiber: 6g
  • Sugars: 7g
  • Protein: 14g

Mmmmm…Nicole enjoying her spinach salad with a side of mashed potatoes…

Leave a Reply

