5 FIT Bitch Must Haves, II

15 Sep

I went to the gym last night, but I have to admit it was a pretty terrible work out.  For some reason my stomach was really hurting, it felt a little like I was getting stabbed.  Oh well, I least I still got my ass to the gym…I did 25 mins on the bouncy elliptical, half an hour of weights ( I focused on my legs), and then ran 1/2 a mile on the treadmill and stretched.  I really was not into my work out yesterday…neither was my sis. It must have been something in the air- we were both so exhausted.  Tonight will be awesome though because I’m going to Zumba!  Though this class kicks my butt, it also gives energy and I’m up for a long weight work out or more cardio when it’s over!!  I’m ready!!! 

Now I just have to focus on keeping my energy up all day long so I’m ready for tonight!  Hope fully the 2 cups of coffee, (one of them brought to work in a GIANT mason jar), will help keep me going! I rarely make coffee @ home, because I don’t think it tastes that great and I don’t find it strong enough but my awesome aunt Bonnie & uncle Steve sent us a BUNCH of McDonalds coffee to brew at home!!! Thanks Guys!

Here are the 5 FIT Bitch Must Haves I’m into this week  😉

1. Coffee.  If anyone ever tells me I should stop drinking coffee, I’ll tell them to hurl their body off a cliff.  And YES I already know that caffeine isn’t the best thing in the world.  However, I did read a study that said Americans get at least 50% of their total antioxidant intake from coffee.  See?  The coffee I drink in the morning not only helps keep me alert but also saves my ass from cancer. Jackpot.

2. Tofu.  I could seriously eat tofu for lunch and dinner every day and never get tired of it!  It’s so mild in flavor on its own that you can add any flavor you like to it.  You can bake it, roast it, saute it, steam it, scramble it and so much more!  It’s lean, full of protein, cruelty free & super cheap!!  I can make 3-4 meals out of one package of organic tofu and each package costs approximately $1.50.  How amazing is that!?  This morning I woke up and realized I had nothing to bring for lunch so I decided to bake a package of tofu while I showered!  I sliced up 1 package of high protein tofu and seasoned it with garlic salt, dried thyme, black pepper & Sriracha. Then I popped it in the oven for 25 mins on 450 degrees (for extra good and slightly crunchy tofu, add a light sprinkling of brown sugar on top while it bakes!!)  Combined with a small serving of brown rice, I have a perfect, healthy lunch!  This seriously took a combined total of less  than 3 mins for me to make this morning!  Try it!

3. Work-out clothes. I think it’s pretty obvious that you need to have clothes to work out in, but I mean that you need you work out clothes PREPARED and ready to grab.  I have a drawer dedicated to my work out clothes.  It makes getting to the gym so much easier if you’re not running around searching for socks or a clean sports bra.  I like to have a couple of outfits folded and ready so I can easily get dressed or quickly toss them into my gym bag in the morning before work.  1 less obstacle to worry about!

4. Snacks. I think if you read any fitness magazine or websites you probably know that you shouldn’t let yourself get too hungry.  If you’re absolutely starving, there’s a pretty good chance that when dinner rolls around, you’ll stuff your face with 4 slices of pizza instead of you regular  2.  Eating small snacks throughout the day helps keep your energy up, stabilizes blood sugar and prevents you from overeating later!  Some of my favorites include: fruit, string cheese,  greek yogurt, walnuts, a couple of crackers with humus or a few slices of tofurkey.   I try to keep snack under 150-200 cals. Below is my snack for this afternoon!

5. An Attitude. Sometimes working out sucks. Sometimes you just don’t feel like getting up from your cozy couch.  Oh well hoe, just do it!  Sometimes you need to give yourself a little ‘tude.  I totally  used to coddle myself, I’d allow myself to make excuses.  I had to stop baby-ing myself so much.  Whenever I hear myself start making excuses I literally say something out loud  like “what the hell are you talking about? Just get your ass to the gym!”  Am I a little crazy?  Maybe, but in the past I let myself excuse my way out of all physical activity, so I had to toughen up!  If giving yourself attitude isn’t exactly your style, just imagine how bad ass and FIT you’ll be after working out for a few months.  I like to imagine how much easier I’ll be able to kick a snobby bitches ass once I’m fitter than she is.  Picture a rude ass ho talkin’ smack…now picture tackling said hoe once you’re a FIT bitch….Bring out your inner Pac if that’s what it takes!

2 Responses to “5 FIT Bitch Must Haves, II”

  1. Bonnie September 15, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Sometimes you scare me Jamie!!! And I’m glad you like the coffee!!!

    • getfitbitches September 15, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

      hahaha…I’m just crazy in when I write…not real in life….

Leave a Reply

