Cook Up a Storm Bitches!

12 Oct

I skipped the gym last night because  I got home around 7:00pm and was dead on my feet.  I have been sooo exhausted lately and really needed a night to let my weary old body rest.  It was perfect to have a free night, because I ended up cooking a bunch of healthy, high protein food for the rest of my work week.  Take a look!

A decidede to whip up a  Bolognese inspired (soy) beef dish that can be used as a sauce for healthy noodles (see below), a filling for crepes,  a dip for crusty bread,  for lasagna sauce or even to be eaten on its own as a sort of italian chilli!! 

I started by sauteing soy ground beef in a little vegetable oil with thyme, red pepper flakes, black pepper and garlic salt- (if you’re meat eater, just cook 1 package of beef or ground turkey and do everything else the same after!)

After the meat browned, I added 1 finely chopped white onion and 4 cloves of minced garlic and let everything cook together for about 5 minutes.  Once the onions were softened I added 2, 14.5 ounce cans of diced tomatoes. Let this simmer on med heat about 10 minutes. Then add 1 tub of low-fat ricotta cheese- this not only gives the sauce a delicious creamy flavor but it also adds tons of extra protein to the dish! At the very end of cooking I added a splash of good aged balsamic vinegar to add a little acidity to off set the ricotta.

Use any brand of diced tomatoes you can find or the ones that are on sale..I tried a roasted garlic variety this time!

 

If you're still eating regular white pasta...you need to quit it! This multigrain pasta is packed with omega's, protein and tons of enriched vitamins!

 

 

Enjoying the final product, creamy beef sauce on top of Barilla spaghetti Plus! I ate while watching The Biggest Loser! Great motivation to serve myself a healthy, smart sized portion!

 

Stop when you feel a little full! I tossed my unfinished dinner plus a little extra in a Tupperware for today's lunch!

 
Leave a Reply

