Today is a Good Day

2 Nov

Despite the fact that my entire world seems to be in a state of chaos…today is good day.

Why all the chaos you ask?  Oh I don’t know….here are just a few of the crazy things going on:

~ My sister (aka my best friend and roommate) is moving away this week

 ~My parents and brother are moving to New York after the holidays (so I’ll be alone in California! WHAT?!??!)

~I have a new roommate- who I don’t yet know, moving into my apartment this week

~ I’m broke

~Big changes happening at work 

I could go on and on but who wants to listen to me complain?  Not you I’m guessing. Even with all of these crazy things and changes going on…none of which are very positive…I’m in a generally good mood lately.  OF COURSE I attribute this mostly to the fact that I’m taking nature’s anti-depressants, and by that I mean I’m releasing endorphins by working out. 

I’m fairly certain that if I wasn’t working out and that if this was a year ago when I was stuck in a fat, tired, unhealthy rut-I’d be having a mental breakdown. I’m serious. This is a lot of change to handle, my whole world will different in a few months.  I’ll be more alone than I ever have been in my life and there are probably going to be some pretty rough days.  I did not picture that this is where I’d be at this point in my life, and frankly, it’s not what I signed up for!  Fuck you life!  How dare you deal me a hand I didn’t want!!

I feel secure knowing that I have some pretty big goals to focus on in the transition period of life.   Having something to focus on that’s completely unrelated to all the changes happening around me in has been very helpful. Working out, as I’ve talked about in the past, really helps me stay positive and happy.   It also makes me feel like I have a lot of control over my world.  Realistically, nothing THAT horrible is happening.  No one is sick, no one is hurting or losing their home.  Things will be different but they night even be better than they could have been without all these changes. 

If you believe the cliché saying that “everything happens for a reason”, then maybe something wonderful will come from all this change.  I know one thing for sure- this Bitch is gonna get beyond FIT.  At least being alone will allow me to focus on my FITness more right?….right?

Today has been awesome so far because:

~I woke up and drank Dunkin’ Donuts coffee with Peppermint Mocha coffeemate! Oh yeah…the holidays are here!

 ~I’ve already chugged three glasses of freezing water and it’s makin’ me feel peppy

~ I really like the outfit I wore to work today. I combined a few pieces I’ve never worn together before

 

 

 ~ I packed a BOMB salad for lunch (pics to come later)

~ I gave myself a manicure last night and I LOVE the color…OPI for Sephora- Don’t Hand Feed the Models

~ I’m working out with Grace right after work. 

~ I plan on kicking my ass in the gym. I want to be drenched in sweat and have a tomato face.

                                        -I’ll do the Stairmaster, the treadmill, abs and more abs, chest and arms!!

16 Responses to “Today is a Good Day”

  1. k9sherri November 2, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    Ummmm Jamie; you look amazing. Yes you are going to visit New York and love it so much that you will join us. Did I say how amazing you look in this pic, holly crap.

    • getfitbitches November 2, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

      Thanks Mom!! You’re gonna regret telling to visit so much I’ll be annoying the crap out of you and smelling up your house!

  2. Mariam November 2, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    Jamie, You will never be “alone” you are surrounded by people who clearly love you, and you are so caring and so giving that im sure it will come back around to you. If you ever feel like coming to OC you know where i am and you will always have a place in my heart! You look amazing, that outfit is totally cute, Im totally jealous by the way!! i will need a work out partner soon, so hopefully we can start to work out together after the baby is born, cuz i have a wedding gown that i need to look amazing in!!! and New York seems far away right now, because you are used to having your family so close, but New York is amazing and you will love visiting there (you stay in Cali though :)) and they are all only a short plane ride away! Stay strong and keep doing what your doing cuz it seems to be doing you good!! ❤

    • getfitbitches November 2, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

      Whoa – Honestly — Thank you so much for the support, it really means alot! We need to become work out buddies now you MILF!

  3. lynn November 2, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    Jamie, first… you look amazing!!
    Second…these are big changes but I see your situation as one of freedom. That can change very quickly and while you may not like being alone you have the freedom to make big moves anytime you want. No mortgage, kids and large debts.
    At anytime you can move to NYC or Canada or Tibet…YOU can do anything.
    so while you may have some rough days. There are phones, facebook cheap plane tickets and aunts who would fly you “home” in a second if you need it.

    change is scary but it is what forces people out of ruts and allows for insight.

    xxo lynn

    • getfitbitches November 2, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

      Thanks so much Lynn! I know you’re right about being free…I think I should take advantage of my freedom more often.
      I am kind of excited for all the trips I’ll get to take and am sure that eventually I’ll see that all this change made me a better person.

      Love you! xoxo

  4. Rachel Benjamin November 2, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    You’re train of thought is soooo much like mine! You look absolutely amazing!! You should be so incredibly proud of yourself, because I have seen and very KNOW that it’s NOT easy. I wanna be your roommate!! lol. They have a GEICO office in San Diego! hehe. I would if i could! Where in NY are your parents & brother moving? If you visit lots- let me know!!! Jordyn’s dad lives there, plus my stepdad’s family lives in Long Island. With notice, I’d love to make a trip to see you all!

    • Rachel Benjamin November 2, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

      oopsies *your train of thought

    • getfitbitches November 2, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

      ❤ My dad will work in Times Square and they will buy a house in Connecticutt!! I'm so excited to visti them! We NEED to get together soon dude! I miss you rach!

    • getfitbitches November 2, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

      And I have Geico! come work here!

  5. Emily November 2, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    You look great- u look so much younger too!

  6. kat November 4, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    that’s a beautiful manniquen hands shade! looks great on your skin tone! i think i just might have to run out and get a bottle 🙂

    • getfitbitches November 4, 2011 at 10:42 am #

      I think it’s great nude for work or for classy cocktail holding hands! 🙂

  7. Vanessa Pridmore November 5, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    Jamie–you look amazing!! Reading your blog is so inspiring! Keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

