The Year of the Brussel Sprout

30 Dec

Tomorrow is the last day of 2011. Thank God.  I hated 2011. 

This was a year of struggle, immense change and my life took a turn in a direction I never envisioned my world heading. As this whirlwind of a year is about to be behind us, I couldn’t possibly be more excited for what 2012 has in store for me.   If 2011 sucked so hard, 2012 HAS to be better right? Right? Isn’t that what karma and the universe and all that other crap kind of says?  Whatever- I know that 2012 is going to be great for me because I’m going to do everything in my power to make it great!  Farewell 2011 – you bitch you.

Last night, my roommate Ashley and I decided to stay in and  cook a nice dinner.  What a great way to spend a  Thursday night!  Ashley decided we should do a Mexican inspired egg dish with some type of roasted veggie on the side.  Since both her and I are pretty obsessed with brussel sprouts at the moment, they were an obvious choice!  Ashley cooks with lots of coconut and olive oil, which makes her cooking really really delicious!

Our eggs got their  kick from a can of green chilis, cumin, chives, onion, mushroom and spinach- topped off with some shredded Mexican cheese!! I’ve been trying to eat more eggs lately…even though cracking them grosses my out a little.  I can pretty much on ly deal with the carton of liquid

These brussel sprouts were the best I’ve had yet! I usually steam them, which really brings out their sweetness and keeps ’em lo-cal, but roasting them gives them a whole new flavor profile! These little guys were roasted in a 400 degree oven for half an hour with coconut oil, salt, pepper and a light sprinkling of herbs de Provence. If you think you don’t like brussel sprouts, try them this way and you’ll have a new favorite food. I swear- it would be impossible to not love these!!  I imagine I’ll be going through  hundreds of these cruciferous bad boys this year!

2 Responses to “The Year of the Brussel Sprout”

  1. k9sherri December 30, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    Nice pics Jame, looks yummy. I just bought some yesterday and will have to try them in coconut oil. I agree; 2012 has to be better than the last. 🙂

Leave a Reply

