My Fitness Pal

4 Jan

So now that I finally got an iphone and have moved in to the new century, I get to use all the fun fitness technology stuff that exists these days!!

My roommate told me about this awesome app called MyFitnessPal.  You can track all your food and exercise and based off of your weight, height, activity level and goal weight, it will tell you how much you should be eating.  What makes that app especially cool is that it gives you stats so you can see exactly have many grams of fat, protein and carbs you’ve eaten.  It also calculates your vitamin and mineral intake.  This app is awesome!   Get it if you have a smart phone ~ you’ll love it!

What I’ve noticed, not surprisingly, is that if you DON’T track what you eat, you randomly eat a bunch of little bites or snacks throughout the day that totally add up!  When I first started tracking my food I couldn’t believe how many calories are in things like the oil that I roast my tofu in!  I mean, I obviously know that there are calories in oil, but I never really thought about the amount that all these additional items would add to my daily caloric intake.  This app has been very helpful and will certainly help me bust out of this plateau I seem to have hit.

Here is what it looks like- this my record of what I’ve eaten so far today….pretty cool huh?

 

Leave a comment