99 Days Until Hawaii

18 Jan

So my ass better step into intense weight loss mode. This whole no sugar/ low carb thing has been pretty tough on the days when I’m strict about it!  If you saw my post about last weekend, you know I’m not being a carb nazi on the weekends.  But I’m trying to be pretty good about my food during the week. 

For the most part, it’s been fairly easy. Except for snacking. One of my regular go-to snacks is whole wheat crackers and hummus. I miss crackers so bad!  UGH! I’m glad to know that this low carb kick isn’t a long term life style change- which makes it easier to not scarf a heaping pile of rice mixed with bread crumbs, chips and tortillas baked into lasagna. LOL.  

I know many people will read about my low-carb ness and think that it’s stupid. You might be thinking, “What about fiber and whole grain?!” Believe me, I’m right there with you….I’m not advocating the Atkins lifestyle.  But I do know what makes my own personal body lose weight.  When I was 18, I did a low carb thing and I was the fittest I’ve ever been in my life!  Also, I’m doing lower carb not NO carb.  I still eat tons of fresh veggies & legumes. Just think of the crap I’m swapping out for more nutritious choices.  I think being a pescatarian puts me in a pretty cool position when it comes low carb eating. I’m not swapping crackers for sausage, I’m swapping them for sugar snap peas, edamame or brocoli! 

Here’s what’s been on the menu this work week:

Yesterday and today for breakfast, I had eggwhites cooked with spinach, garlic and cheese!  There’s no picture of this because truthfully, the pictures looked a lilttle nasty.  It’s hard to make a jar of greens and eggwhites look good!

I made vegetarian chili to bring for my lunches this week, it’s made with: soy ground beef, crushed tomatoes, black beans, kidney beans, onion, garlic, smoked paprika, cumin and peppers!! Yesterday, I topped it with some shredded mozzarella, today its topped with cheddar.

After work last night I went on a really great half hour run. I ran along Sunset Cliffs and through my neighborhood. Running to the SHOTS radio station on Pandora is a complete jackpot! I was gettin’ down to some Ludacris, Lil Jon, LMFAO and Pitbull! Even though it was pretty chilly for San Diego standards (about 48 degrees) my great music kept me going!

After my jog, I decided I should eat right away..(my brother is alway nagging me about eating protein immediately post work-out to get the maximum benefits!) I made a salad with arugula, brocoli, carrots, avocado, tuna and balsamic vinaigrette.  This was 500 calories and mucho protein!  I think it’s an almost perfect post-run dinner.

 

Leave a Reply

