FITness For Yourself

13 Mar

The older I’ve gotten, the more I’ve realized that you can’t rely on other people and your happiness needs to come completely from yourself.   I know this sounds like a negative statement to make, but it’s actually been an extremely positive thing for to come to terms with. No one is going to make you feel happy in the exact way that you want them to, no one can energize, motivate or inspire you enough to be your best self. You have to be your best self, on your own, without help, before anyone else’s influence can really have any impact on you.  

The minute you start realizing that your life, and how you want it to look is 100% in your hands, you will be happier.  Last year,  all the stable things I thought I had in my life abruptly changed.  I was 26 and in a completely different place in life than I always thought I’d be.  I had to make my world look the way I wanted it to.   I’m so glad that I got that chance on my own. I have created a life that I never thought I’d have.  I stopped seeing people I didn’t really like. I stopped doing things that felt like obligations, I focused more on my mental health and my appearance, I organized my home, made deeper connections with friends and tried to be as active- in all senses of the word, as possible.  Finally, being FIT became a huge part of my identity.

  There is an incredible connection between FITness and overall lifestyle.  Since I’ve changed my life around, I believe with 100% certainty that if you’re not FIT- you are not your best self.  I won’t apologize for this viewpoint either.  Now of course there are people who have serious reasons for not being FIT (illness, disbilities etc). But in general, having FITNess be part a large part your life can only improve things.  What else can  you say that about?  Wealth? Mo money, mo problems man! Sex? Ummm how does Chlamydia sound to you?  Besides, being FIT is only about YOU!  It’s something you can do that is completely and totally about yourself….but in a good way.  Being FIT makes look better, have more energy,  be more productive, be happier, sleep better, gives you more confidence, introduces you to new activities and oh yeah and makes shopping way more fun!

If you’re not on the FIT band wagon yet, get on it bitches! What are you waiting for?  Do it for yourself. That’s it.  Alot of things will be better if you focus on FITness.  It worked for me anyways.   This is one of the most important things you can do for yourself.  If only I knew that I would feel this great, I would have given the gift of FIT to myself a LONG time ago.

Greek Yogurt is a perfect pre-work-out snack! I mix in frozen mixed berries!

 In other news, I’m sticking to my goal of making March the best month possible.  Here are what I’ve completed off of my epic month to do list so far!

Have a BBQ

Go running on the beach 4 times

Run in the morning before work at least  4 times (once)

Buy a great outfit

Go to the spa (this weekend!)

Buy myself flowers

Go out for a NICE drink somewhere in a NICE dress

Go to the movies

Lose 15 pounds (get outta here you bastards!)

Run Mission bay at Sunset

Only spend time with people I want (so far!!)

Try to be as FIT as possible (in action!)

4 Responses to “FITness For Yourself”

  1. Grace March 13, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    when did u have a bbq? i wasn’t invited

    • getfitbitches March 13, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

      Mini didn’t have it yet!! Only the items with notes next to it have been complete..I want to have one!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Pam March 14, 2012 at 9:15 am #

    I love this post!!!!! It’s my new mantra 🙂

    (also, hello! our mutual friend Krystie gave me your blog address and I read the whole thing – way to go! you look awesome!! I am going to start following your FIT lead)

    • getfitbitches March 14, 2012 at 11:24 am #

      Hi Pam! Thanks for reading~ I lovge having Canadian readers!!!! Id love to hear how your FIT journey goes, keep me updated! 🙂

Leave a Reply

