Little in the Middle

22 Mar

35 days until Hawaii. I’m on track.  Like really on track, I’ve lost 6 pounds in 9 days!  And I have to admit, I have been trying really really hard.  These past fews days have been pretty intense.  I’ve been much stricter than normal. I was  lingering around the same weight for a month. No Bueno.  That pissed me off.   So I did what any FIT bitch who’s entering beach season would do. I stepped my mother fucking game up. Protein shakes, making meals mostly about nutrition and not about cravings, running…. Is it joyous and easy?  No.  Does it work?  Yes.  Eat less.  Eat lighter.  Be healthy.  Work out even if you really don’t feel like it. I did let myself cheat on Saturday though for a friends birthday by eating bread & butter and drinking  A LOT of alcohol.  I guess it’s true that one night of cheating won’t derail your hard work.

 

Yesterdays lunch. A whey protein shake made with coconut milk. (not the thick sweet coconut milk you'd put in a pina colada- this is like regular milk)

 

A sunset run last night after work.

 

Listening to Rack City radio...the music doesn't fit the scenery but it keeps me pumped!

Last night when my relaxing sunset run was coming to an end, I turned a corner near my house and found myself running next to a very lean, very FIT dude.  He  was keeping an intensely FAST pace.  I was about to stop running and head home but as I ran next to this guy I couldn’t help but want to race him- I just felt compelled.  I knew he felt the same competitive spirit as his speed picked up a little bit.  I decided I was not gonna let this twiggy douche bag out run me.  I sped up.  I began running down Cable Ave, no scratch that- I was sprinting down Cable!  I sprinted as fast as my legs could carry me- I ran and ran and ran pumping my arms as fast as I possible. We raced like we were in the Olympics for 8 blocks.  I don’t think I’ve ever run so fast in my life. When he finally took off down another block I was so relieved!  I could finally stop. Whew!!!  I was so out of breath I thought I might die!

This completely random competition was exactly what I needed to finish off a great workout! I’ve never pushed myself so hard!  I felt like I did when I used to play tag as a kid.  You know that feeling when your trying really hard to catch someone and you run as fast as humanly possible?  I felt that last night and I loved it.  I think that in general, I’m a pretty good sprinter.  I can run fast for a short distance- but last night was a whole new level. Who knew?  Race a stranger and get FITter!

Post-run dinner last night: baby greens, strawberries, blue cheese, avocado, raw almonds, asparagus & a splash of vinegar. Delicious!

 

Breakfast this morning: 2% plain Greek yogurt with 1/2 cup of organic strawberries.

Leave a Reply

