Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough

16 May

Hell YES. DUDE!  I stepped on the scale this morning and was so full of glee I almost screamed. I am  3.5 pounds lighter than I was last week.  How this  happened I have no idea,  last week I was NOT strict about what I ate and kept my working out at an easy level- oh and I also consumed large amounts of alcohol this weekend……. As much as it feel like I’ve been takin’ it easy on myself  I also  sort of knew that this  significant drop would happen.  I was being WAYYY too anal about my eating for the past few months. And feel like it actually derailed my progress. It’s necessary to be strict when starting a weight loss plan or when trying to escape the grips of a vicious plateau, but I don’t think you can keep your diet too restricted for long.  Since my sister arrived last Tuesday, I’ve been slowly moving back to what most people would consider ‘normal’ eating.  To me, eating ‘normally’ means being careful and healthy 85% of the time.  I have definitely started allowing myself to let my hair down more than before.  A beer or cookie once or twice a week has been working out just fine- actually it’s been working out perfectly based off of what I saw on the scale this morning!!!

AHHHHH! I am so excited.  I am exactly 4 pounds away from where I’ve wanted to be for 5 years!!!  Seriously for over 5 years I longed to be the weight I’ll be in about week or two. I’m so elated to be where I am and have no intention of losing momentum- I’m going to keep losing!!

Truthfully, though I don’t plan on stopping once I hit my original goal weight I’ve never been a girl who’s trying to be a size zero.  I will never be a size zero or even a size two.  And you know what?  I sincerely don’t want to be.  I mean that.  My body is muscular and I like it that way.  I have no desire to be a waif-like super model weight.  Of course I feel hotter the more weight I lose, but that’s because I’m not just shedding lbs, I’m also trying to sculpt my body.  I’m not implying that every super-thin girl is skinny fat or un-musuclar, I just know that for my body type- a size 6 or maybe a 4 is the lowest I can go.  Even at my skinniest (which was in high school when I ran track), I had boobs, hips and thighs.   I’ve been told my legs are my best asset and they are FAR from being skinny.  To be a zero would be mean I literally have to rarely eat and  stop working out because even when I only run and don’t weight lift, my thighs get super muscular.   They are a symbol of all the work I’ve put into my journey and I’m down with them. I’m working on gettin’ FIT not  being skinny!

I had a conversation with a friend last night about life and what it takes to be happy.  One of the conclusions we arrived at, was that it’s important to keep striving to be better.  Once you settle and decide everything is perfect the way it is, you have nothing to work for.  Nothing to keep you going. With this in mind, I’m certain that no matter what weight I reach, I’m going to keep working on my body.  I can always have tighter legs, be a faster runner, a better swimmer, a more skilled yogi, have a nicer ass, better abs…… and the list goes on.  It’s exciting to know that there will always be more to work on- especially now that the hard stuff is out of the way (and by hard stuff  I mean the whole losing 80 pounds thing…..)

Well I’m on to day 3 of the THREE WEEK CHALLENGE!  Below are photos of my dinner last night- some delicious herbed salmon, sautéed mushrooms and  a greek salad with avocado.  After dinner I had a Widmer Hefewizen and a sample of Batch 19 lager while watched the second half of the Clippers game @ True North… they lost 😦  but it was an awesome and very delicious night!

4 Responses to “Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough”

  1. savannah May 16, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    You amaze me!

  2. Jennifer Hennick May 16, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    Jamie I love your attitude!! You motivate me to get back in shape, but to have fun while doing it! Keep up the great work!
    Jenn Buckland

Leave a Reply

