A Commitment to Myself

12 Jun

 

My plan is to be FIT forever.   I’ve been doing alot of thinking lately about how happy I am to NOT be fat.  I don’t like to use the “F” word very often, as I find it to be one of meanest and most offensive words out there, but I guess it’s okay if  I’m only referring to my old self-right?  So back to not being fat. Yeah, that’s pretty great.  Like more great than I coud have imagined.  If  you read this blog often you know I make alot of commitments to my FITness.   I plan on exercising for the rest of my life and eating healthy for lots of different reasons.  This week, I’m finding myself seriously stoked on not hating my body- which is making my commitment even easier. 

This morning’s FIT breakfast, cultured cottage cheese with organic black berries 🙂

In the past, I thought people who worried a lot about gaining a few pounds were petty and vain. I mean with all the wonderful things in life, who cares if you carry around a little flub? If you’re a good person, 20,30 or even 40 extra pounds should be meaningless. Well I’ve realized  now that I WAS WRONG.  Weighing more than you feel comfortable with actually effects a lot more than your dress size.*(disclaimer~ I don’t mean weighing more than the FDA or Vogue magazine says you should weigh, I’m talking about weighing more than the weight YOU personally feel comfortable and healthy @

My personality changed when I was over-weight.  The craziest part of that fact is,  I knew it was happening.  When I had gained a little weight after high school, I remember crying on the phone to friend saying I felt different, I didn’t feel like myself anymore because I hated what I looked like. I consciously felt the effects of my unhealthy lifestyle, but still didn’t make  a change.  It’s the old vicious cycle cliché, you eat because you’re sad and you’re sad because you eat.   I was  self-conscious, grumpy, defensive and depressed.  I felt tired and lazy and got headaches all the time.  I was very closed off and didn’t give to the people in my life the way I should have.  I was too guarded to let myself really be my true self with anyone. It really is crazy how much your physical state can affect your world.  I’m so happy that I’ll be living most of my adult life in a healthy state instead of  always pretending to feel like I liked myself.

I’m actually in the moment now that I’m not always worried about my looks!

I vow to make my #1 priority in life my health.  What else could matter more than that? Above anything else, this MUST be #1 focus at  all times. If I do this one simple thing I KNOW that lots of amazing things will follow, such as:  I will be a more productive employee, a flirtier wife for my husband someday, a nicer daughter, sister and friend, a better philanthropist, a more helpful neighbor, and hopefully an active, fun and happy mother.  The fact that my physical appearance will benefit from this commitment is also a  fuckin’ jack-pot. It’s also a jack-pot that this commitment means I will not be one of those women that has a baby and balloons up to 900lbs (a la Jessica Simpson) and then goes on about how my child ruined my youthful figure. That wouldn’t be hott….or healthy.

Ok I LOVE Jessica Simpson more than you know- bu this is just Crazy! Eating slutty brownies er’ day does not do a body good.

3 Responses to “A Commitment to Myself”

  1. k9sherri June 12, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    Love it as usual

  2. Jenn Martinez June 12, 2012 at 11:19 am #

    Jamie- I have been a huge fan on your blog from day 1! You have always been beautiful but I’m so glad you are in such a happy place it def shows!!! What an amazing transformation this has been for you! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

