FIT Approved Foods

13 Jun

When it comes to being FIT, I think  it’s become fairly common to take the real, whole foods route.  Long gone are the days of eating nothing but frozen diet dinners, taking diet pills or replacing two meals with canned shakes. (If you haven’t heard about this and you’re on the South Beach, Lean Cuisine or SlimFast  plan…girrrlllll we have a lot of talking to do!!) 

I think that lot’s of us women have decided to ditch the non-fat, processed ‘diet’ goods and opt for nutritious real food to fill our bellies. I can’t say that all diet products are evil -I admittedly sneak a diet coke every once in a while…. I know it’s not healthy but its just SOOO good! And in the beginning of my weight loss journey when I was just focused on calorie consumption- I really liked some of the frozen weight watchers options and canned ‘healthy’ soups.  But as time passed I grew into someone who valued the idea of putting unprocessed, nutritionally dense whole foods into my mouth. 

I stopped feeling good about eating  highly processed crackers even though they were ‘whole wheat’. I started to wonder why I was eating my delicious leafy, savory salad with a side of bread instead of just adding more veggies.   I began checking ingredient lists, sugar amounts and sodium levels in everything I bought and found my cart being full of more veggies and less filler food .  What do I consider filler food? It’s food that is processed and is high carb, sodium or sugar.  Granted, some of these foods are very affordable and seem to help American families fill themselves up at dinner time- but are they the healthiest thing we can eat??  I have to say no. They can fit into our diet every once in a while, for example if  I go to a beautiful Italian restaurant, I WILL be eating a piece of bread.  But I don’t  think that anyone should be eating a slice of bread with their dinner every night.  No matter what you say-everyone knows  a steamed vegetable would have definitely been a healthier choice.    

Bread like this is not merely filler and deserves to be eaten with aromatic olive oil, and tangy balsamic. A nice family dinner is the perfect time to indulge in foods that might not always be part of your diet! This awesome basket came from Il Fornaio in Irvine, CA.

 

Also from Il Fornaio, check out these incredible grilled prawns in a white wine garlic sauce, sitting on top of wilted spinach! This is the type of dish I’d love to eat every night- low carb and REAL! My waist line would thank me…my checking account would not!

So now that I’ve explained how I like to eat I’d like to give you a list of what exactly I like to eat. Now this list is what I eat about 85% of the time.  On occasion I do eat fish tacos, cookies, pizza and chips & salsa- you know, standard PMS or party foods……

I think the items on this list  are excellent  parts to any FIT diet.  (ummm incase you didn’t know I’m not a doctor or a nutritionist…so obviously don’t take my personal experience and then sue me…k?)

acai          
almonds          
apples          
arugula          
avocados          
berries of all types        
black beans        
broccoli          
brussle sprouts        
butter (used in moderation)      
butter or leaf lettuce      
butternut squash        
cabbage          
canned tuna        
carrots          
cauliflower        
cherries          
coconut milk (unsweetened)      
coconut oil        
collard greens        
cottage cheese (I prefer a cultured cottage cheese like Nancy’s)
cow’s milk cheese        
cucumber        
edamame        
eggplant          
eggs (organic, free range whenever possible)  
fennel          
figs

garbanzo beans

       
garlic          
goat cheese        
greek yogurt (%2 fat, always plain)    
herbs galore!        
jicama          
kale          
lemons          
lentils          
macadamia nuts        
mahi mahi        
mushrooms        
nut butters        
olive oil          
olives          
onions          
oranges          
oranges, tangerines & grapefruit    
peaches          
pea shoots        
pecans          
peppers          
pickles          
pinto beans        
pomegranates        
romaine          
salmon          
salsa          
scallops          
shrimp          
spices          
spinach          
sprouts          
tofu (organic)        
tomatoes          
walnuts          
watermelon        
zucchini          
           

 

Think I’m missing anything major on the list that you eat ALL the time?  Let me hear it!  🙂

Leave a Reply

