Lately I’ve Been….

26 Jul

…eating food cooked in batches! On Monday night,  I made up a big lentil salad and huge batch of overnight cold oats!  It’s been so awesome to have delicious healthy food ready to eat all week long! I’m the type of girl who eats something twice and I’m totally over it but not this week! These two dishes have been super delicious and I’ve been excited to eat ’em all week long! I can’t wait to share the oat recipe with you!

I’ve been wanting to try to make cold oats just  mixing them with bomb-ass ingredients like greek yogurt and stuff but I never seem to get around to it….and I usually favor eating   high protein stuff  like eggs or plain yogurt for b-fast.  But on Monday night I was cleaning out my pantry in preparation for moving and found a can of organic oats….The thought of eating warm oatmeal in the summer makes me want to gag….it seems like a comforting food in theory, but when I actually eat it- it’s just too warming and carby for my taste buds.  This is exactly why I think I’m drawn to cold oats!  A few local coffee shops in SD make a dish similar to this and they seem to be really popular. If eating cold oatmeal sounds weird to you- give it a shot once and I know you’ll love it!  These oats are high in protein thanks to the addition of greek yogurt and you can make them in a large batch so they’re an easy summer breakfast to make your work week a breeze!

These are the simplest thing  on the planet  and you can vary the recipe depending on your taste. FYI-you could make these much faster by making step 1 shorter, you only need about 5 hours to soak….or you can push it to 24 hours!

Cool, creamy strawberry oats with chia seeds.

1. Soak oats  in lemon water over night to draw out some of the phytic acid…What is phytic acid you ask?   Well I didn’t know either until my paleo genius roommate gave me the low-down.  Many grains and legumes contain phytates which are compounds that can prevent your body from fully absorbing certain nutrients.  Soaking oats overnight in lightly salted, lemon water lowers the amount phytic acid in them and leaves you with all the healthy, fibery oat goodness! This also softens your oats, which is necessary since you wont be cooking them! I soaked about 2 cups of oats overnight then drained them completely. Make sure your water level is a couple of inches over the oats- they will soak up a lot of the liquid. In the morning, drain off all the soaking liquid.

2. Mix drained,  softened oats in a large bowl with about 1 & 1/2 cups of greek yogurt (this will vary depending on how creamy you want your oats to be, and keep in mind that the oats will continue to absorb liquid)

3. Add about 1/8 of a cup-1/2 cup  of any milk you like: regular, soy or coconut (which I used).  This is not an exact science you won’t ruin these- it’s just about the consistency you prefer when eating oats.

4. Stir in a cup of chopped strawberries (or any other fruit you like) and a 1/4 cup of slivered almonds for crunch

5. Mix in 2 tbsp of Chia seeds (these little babies are high in omega 3’s & fiber, and when they get a cool tapioca like quality when added to a wet mixture like this)

6. Let this creamy mixture sit in the fridge for at least 3 hours and enjoy! If you’re not anti-sugar like I am,  adding a drizzle of honey to this would be delicious!

That’s it- serve and eat just like hot oatmeal!  This will keep for about 3-4 days in the fridge!

I think the strawberries really make this breakfast. Other fruits that I think would be great: blueberries, chopped peaches, banana, cantaloupe, cherries, diced  pineapple or maybe even flaked coconut!

See those little things that look like caviar? Those are the puffed up chia seeds- such a healthy addition to this dish.

I really tried, but it was hard to make these look as great as they taste.

Iced coffee to go along with my oats…plus a dress I scored for $18.00 a Ross! Jackpot!

Leave a Reply

